Home COPS Search Metrobank Foundation announces COPS winners
Metrobank Foundation announces COPS winners Print E-mail

The Metrobank Foundation, together with its partners PSBank and the Rotary Club of New Manila East, once again recognized the best cops in the country as it named this year’s awardees of the Search for Country’s Outstanding Policemen in Service (COPS).  

“We are proud to present to the entire nation the Philippine National Police’s finest men and women,” said Metrobank Foundation president Aniceto M. Sobrepeña. “Given to the best and most dedicated members of the police force, this award is an expression of the private sector’s appreciation of the police’s commitment to maintaining peace and order in our country,” he continued. 

The awardees, who come from various provinces throughout the country, consisted of four commissioned officers and six non-commissioned officers. The awardees from the commissioned officers category are Police Chief Inspector Alden Delvo, Police Superintendent Eric Noble, Police Superintendent Eliseo Cruz and Police Superintendent Dionardo Carlos. On the other hand, those from the non-commissioned officers category are Senior Police Officer 1 Gaudencio Callo, Senior Police Officer 4 Baltazar Carillo, Police Officer 3 Manuela Cueto, Police Officer 3 Arturo Melchor, Jr., Senior Police Officer 2 Danilo Nazareno and Police Officer 2 Sherill Ybañez.  

Out of 109 nominations from all over the country, only 20 were shortlisted for the final judging and interview, and among them, only ten were declared as winners.            

Each awardee will receive a cash prize of P250,000, courtesy of the Metrobank Foundation. The winners will be honored and awarded by President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo in ceremonies at the Malacañang Palace on July 6.   

Chaired by Associate Justice Renato C. Corona of the Supreme Court, the 2009 COPS Final Board of Judges included Representative Rizalina Seachon-Lanete of the 3rd district of Mabate; Mayor Ramon A. Ilagan of Cainta, Rizal; Federation of Filipino-Chinese Chambers of Commerce and Industry, Inc. president Dr. Alfonso Uy; Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Maynila president Atty. Adel A. Tamano; Philippine Daily Inquirer columnist Retired Major General Ramon J. Farolan, Jr.; 1997 Ramon Magsaysay Awardee for Community Leadership Sr. Eva Fidela C. Maamo, SPC, MD; and Philippine Association of National Advertisers (PANA) president and Advertising Board of the Philippines chair Charmaine V. Canillas.  

Now on its seventh year, COPS is an annual project implemented by the Metrobank Foundation, PSBank and the Rotary Club of New Manila East, in coordination with the Philippine National Police. With the aim to recognize the shared responsibility between the police and the community, the award is given to gallant men and women of the police force who are able to work with the community in preventing and solving crime. 

The Metrobank Foundation is the corporate social responsibility arm of the Metrobank Group of Companies established by Dr. George S.K. Ty in 1979. Over the last 30 years, it has promoted a culture of excellence among Filipinos through its various programs notably the Search for Outstanding Teachers, the Metrobank Art and Design Excellence, The Outstanding Philippine Soldier, Country’s Outstanding Policemen in Service, the Metrobank Math Challenge, and College Scholarship Program.  The Foundation also has a grants program that assists NGOs and government in the fields of education, healthcare, and the arts. Metrobank Foundation celebrates Filipino excellence and presents wellsprings of hope in the future of our nation.


Click here to download Nomination Form
Links to Program Partners
Banner Banner
Banner Banner